Heat – Edsa Shangri-La Manila

On January 10, 2015 I broke one of my New Year’s resolution…

The one where I said that I’m going to start dieting.

It’s not too late though, the best thing to do is to try and try till I eventually succeed.

Losing to temptation never tasted so good. I mean, does it actually taste otherwise?

And regret wasn’t something I felt after.

DSCF2272

Yes, you’ve probably guessed it, another round at the buffet carousel. And this is not the first one for this year too! But it my book, it’s the one that counts.

DSCF2263

Last December I mentioned two noteworthy buffet places here in the Philippines and after that, I thought it was over.

I was so wrong.

After the holidays, I’m sure there are many of you who planned a get together sometime after to avoid the rush or because that’s when you’re schedule is actually free. That’s what happened to me.

Apparently, buffets are all the rage these days since there are a variety of cuisine available and of course loads of delicious food to make you forget any resolutions you have made -Let’s table my relationship with food some other time.

DSCF2281

My favorite picture of the night. I think it captures the friendliness that we’re known for.

It’s not just about the quantity of food though since buffets are a dime a dozen. Almost everywhere you look they’re offering up some kind of buffet for a certain price but sadly a lot of them disregard the quality of food they serve. That’s why I made it my mission to discover some of the best All You Can Eat places here in the Metro.

DSCF2293

What they offer:

  • Salad Bar – to start you off
  • Cold Cuts, Bread & Cheese section – still warming up
  • Filipino Food section – starting with the basics
  • Seafood section – something light
  • Pizza, Pasta & Omelette section
  • Japanese section – I always seem to end up here even though I already told myself to lay off the Japanese food.
  • Mediterranean / Indian food section
  • Carnivore section (Carving of roast beef and lamb) – winner for the night
  • Asian food section
  • Dessert section – second favorite for the night
  • Noodle and soup section – to end it all.
  • Drink section (although you’d have to shell out a couple of hundred extra)

DSCF2278 DSCF2277 DSCF2275 DSCF2274 DSCF2273

Heat is definitely in my current Top 5 and it made its way there for good reason.

There is a distinction in the way their food tastes that they’ve given it enough TLC before they served it up on a platter. Even though it might not be the best ever, it’s definitely earned its rightful place at the top.

DSCF2271 DSCF2269 DSCF2265

I found myself going back to the carving section, dessert section and the seafood section again and again. I couldn’t get enough. I especially like their Roast beef more than anything, and being a carnivore like myself, I’ve tasted a few but this one got me good. In the seafood area they have the big kind of everything which I like since I have a big appetite for seafood and it feels so refreshing to eat. While I did love the ones that I tried in the dessert area, I found their mini Taho to be the cutest thing ever! It’s also a good tribute to the Filipino culture that they served it in the typical Taho contraption in which the vendors carry them in around the streets.

And here’s one more thing that I think is noteworthy: their staff are very friendly and accommodating. The wait staff anticipates your needs but they don’t hover which is good because it doesn’t distract you from the food experience and the company.

DSCF2282 DSCF2289 DSCF2286 DSCF2295

No doubt a great experience and I can see myself coming back in the near future, after I sort out my diet plan that is. You’ll definitely get what you pay for and you’re sure to have a good time when you’re around friends and family!

Don’t forget to call in at least a day before to reserve since it gets packed!

There are also two patios available and a few private dining area.

Contact The Edsa Shangri-La Hotel for more details.

DSCF2263

That’s all folks! In most, if not all, of my reviews I always mention the good and the bad but aside from a few hiccups, I can’t think of one that’s worth mentioning and telling y’all about.

Let me know what you think! Connect with me on any of the social media platforms there on the side. You can also check out this review on Zomato and follow me on Instagram to see more pictures!

See you next time! πŸ™‚

-E

2 thoughts on “Heat – Edsa Shangri-La Manila

Leave a Reply

