I found my safe haven at Starbucks. And it’s such a cliche.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Oasis.”

It sounds tacky, I know.

But it’s not so much the coffee or the coffee shop, more on where it is…

or was.

All my life I’ve lived in Manila and I love it so much that even though I could live some place else I don’t because I really like it here. Heavy traffic gets on my nerves most of the time but I secretly miss it during the holidays and then when it’s back in full swing I remember why I hate it. And the way that some people drive makes me wonder how they lived to tell the tale (One of the reasons why I don’t drive, I used to a while back but now I don’t). Don’t even get me started on the telenovela (drama) like lives we live everyday, mine included, though it’s probably not an isolated issue. And it’s crowded too! I might even go as far as to say it’s too crowded like if Manila was a pregnant lady she’s at the point where she’s screaming for dear life and holding on to the bed rails (not a good example). When it gets too much, you can’t just drop everything and go where ever, it’s not practical -it’s fun and whatever but not practical or realistic. People can say a lot of bad things about the place they live in and there is of course some truth to it but the good and the bad, no matter how bad, makes it home. That’s why we strive to make it better, homier and happier. So yeah, we each find our own way to cope.

And I found my place at this Starbucks branch tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the Metro. It was where I go to be alone but not too alone, if you get my meaning (which is definitely part of their business plan). Plus it was quiet since you could only go there by driving or taking a cab and I guess not a lot of people knew where it was. And if that’s not good enough, it’s only 15 minutes away from home.Β It was perfect.

I say was because it’s gone now. They tore it down because they needed the lot to build either a mall or a business centre which undoubtedly will bring in more dough than a coffee shop would.

That was over a year ago and I’m still looking for a replacement.

There’s one in Tagaytay, which is a 1 and a half hour drive and another one in Baguio which would take about 3 to 4 hours on the road. Β But that’s for when we go out of town.

Your oasis doesn’t have to be somewhere fancy and you don’t even have to go out. It’s where you’re comfortable enough to let go and to stop and not think about anything or do, it’s really up to you. It could be at a five star hotel in another country, it could be deep sea diving to really tune the world out, or like me whose butt’s always at a coffee shop and it could simply be your room where nothing could bother you, shut the door and leave everything at your doorstep.

Oasis

-E

4 thoughts on “I found my safe haven at Starbucks. And it’s such a cliche.

  1. callmefrozen says:

    I like going to malls naman. Crowded as they may be, the best malls I’ve been into are still those from Pinas. Hello kabayan!

    Like

Leave a Reply

